“never misjudge the faithful heart of your beloved”

So, the above is a quote from Beethoven, in a love letter written to his “eternal love” (unnamed!). I find the whole concept of love letters totally romantic and wonderful, but at the same time very old-world. Is there any way to fit a love letter into today’s life? Doesn’t it all come across as too forced, too over the top, for our cynical brains to process?

Maybe it’s just that we have been told time and time again that “nothing lasts forever” and “good things always come to an end”. We’re too vulnerable to put it all out there, especially in writing. Or of course, it could be that the literary skills of our generation have been reduced to “ily! <3”

I less than three you!

Texting language depresses me quite profoundly. Language is so diverse and expressive, and it actually hurts me to see it reduced to gibberish. There’s the argument that it’s simply the “evolution” of language – but it looks like a devolution to me. People are still feeling those incredible, passionate feelings and having those madly indulgent love affairs, but none of us know how to articulate it. And it’s not just love. Language helps us express all our emotions, positive and negative. It’s an outlet, and a means of identification of those emotions. By reducing the language we are limiting our capacity to identify – and to some extent, feel – our feelings.

The most amazing, incredibly love stories are not relegated to the 1700s. They are happening today, and I wish someone would just say how they really feel, in all it’s awkwardness, and remind us that we are the same emotional human beings that wrote such moving prose.

2 thoughts on ““never misjudge the faithful heart of your beloved”

  1. You know, to hell with it… Be as cheesy, corny or self-indulgent as you’d like; copy their prose, or seek inspiration in it for your own, but I? I still write love letters.

    And I write love letters to my lovely exactly as I feel like writing them, in all their glorious poetic cheese, and even if he teases me slightly about being daggy, the look on his face when he sees I’ve brought him one always gives him away.

    There’s no need to be reduced to ily, let’s be real… after all, who wants an anagram to be their way of saying I love you to their partner?
    =]

  2. Oh my god, my first comment! people read this! :D I totally agree with you. I wrote my first love letter the other day and it was much appreciated by the recipient. I hope our language does continue to evolve in a positive way… thanks for commenting :)

Leave a Reply

