Paris, Je t’aime

So I’m at my parents house going out of my mind.

Literally, I’m going crazy here. I love my parents, and it’s not them that’s making me insane, it’s this town. There is nothing to do. My days consist of going to the gym, eating sushi and renting old movies. All of this to you, casual reader, probably doesn’t sound too unbearable, until you do it for 3 months straight and start to develop a seafood allergy.

The odd thing is, I have so much free time and yet somehow the days get away from me. I’ve only done one or two photography shoots – the problem being there’s nothing to shoot. I went to the beach and got some beautiful beach shots, none of which I can upload on here because the internet is so damn slow. I’m working casually at a restaurant with some really fun people, but unfortunately all the tourists have disappeared thanks to Queensland becoming a disaster area. What they don’t realize is that our little area is fine, no floods, no fires, no raining sulphur. Just some sunny weather and sandy beaches.

Pictured: Queensland

I start back at university soon which I think will be a relief, even though I’m not feeling too enthused about any of my classes this semester. Still, at least I will be out of the house and working rather than sitting around. Just being at university and soaking up the ambiance of lots of smart people gathering makes me feel happy.

So my grand plan after I graduate (assuming I don’t fail any classes; but I’ve never failed any so I don’t see why I’m going to start now . . . ) is to get a full time job doing anything (excluding what you’re thinking of now, pervert.) so I can save up and go to Speos. This is a photography institute in Paris, France (in case you were thinking Texas) and they have like 6 month courses that get you all kinds of cool european qualifications. Plus it means I have an excuse to bum around Paris. ! I haven’t applied yet so I don’t even know if I’ll get in, or how hard that is.

So it fulfils my wanton need to travel, learn something I love doing and might possible get me the coolest job in the world. Maybe.

My parents seem to be desperate all of a sudden for me to get into advertising. (What they both do.) I’m not sure where this came from because I like WRITING and PHOTOGRAPHY. I don’t like bullshitting clients about why “Got Milk” is going to sell lots and lots of dairy. Not that it wouldn’t make me lots of money, but …. i’m just not sure it’s for me. I’m not a “corporate” type. I’m a quirk. I like to be on my own schedule, in some studio apartment in some european capital, drinking black coffee and writing about films. Or something like that. I don’t think I’m cut out for “business”.

Although, the fashion is kind of amazing. Think of all the sexy-executive pencil skirts . . . ;)

So glad I’m back to writing this. I feel like i’m in the writing zone. Yay!

Leave a Reply

