Frustrations

I know I said earlier that my short story is going well, but, reading over it, it’s a total mess. My characters are flaky. I have too much information and am trying to jam it all into 2500 words. I really want it to work because I know what it is I want to get across, and it’s a really awesome story, but not coming together… I still have another month and a bit before the competition, so I will sort it out. It’s just moments like these when my head is pounding and I’m trying fruitlessly to finish it that really sucks. On a brighter note, I found an awesome article about short story writing, and it is quite cheery to read!

“I wouldn’t claim to be an expert on short fiction writing, but I have written over a hundred of the little fuckers, a large proportion of which have been science fiction-y. Here are a bunch of do’s and don’ts, that I discovered the hardest way possible.” (Read more)

That whole website is really fun, if you’re into sci-fi stuff. Love it! Also after reading their review of X-men: First Class I really want to see it! Waiting till I’m on the coast so I can see it with Brendon :) Win!

I need to work on my essay too… last piece of university assessment! but I keep getting distracted by the internet….Anyway. Back to work.


Leave a Reply

